3125 Hochelaga Boulevard, Sainte-Foy, QC, CA, G1W 2P9
Phone: (418) 653-4901 Fax: (418) 653-7115
The history of the Musée de géologie René-Bureau can be traced to the early 19th Century, when the 400-odd specimens by mineralogist, René Just Haüy, was found in the archives at Séminaire de Québec. From 1852 onwards, professors from Université Laval contributed towards expanding the collection, which increased to boast around 15,000 specimens by the 1960s. In 1962 when the Pavillon Adrien-Pouliot was established, the museum found a new home at the Université Laval. The museum houses over 40,000 specimens of minerals, fossils and rocks from around the globe. Guided tours of the museum are provided; call ahead for further information.
Centre d'art Maison Blanchette was originally a house from the 19th Century. This house has since then played different roles from being a grocery store to being operated as a hotel. Currently, it is a place where drawing and painting is taught. It also houses a gallery called La Galerie d'art du Trace, a place inside the house where one can appreciate several works of arts.
The 20,000 works at Musée National des Beaux-arts du Québec range from the traditional landscape paintings of Cornelius Krieghoff to the controversial abstraction of Paul-Émile Borduas and the avant-garde sculptures of Serge Tousignant. Non-Quebec artist Arthur Lismer's lovely St-Hilarion is one of the Museum's prized possessions. A huge slate of activities awaits art, music and cinema lovers. The museum hosts numerous events and exhibits throughout the year, so call ahead for more information.
Henry-Stuart House is named after its prior owners. This beautiful house symbolises the early British architectural style and appears as a jewel amidst the urban Quebec city. The house has a unique square roof and a beautiful welcoming British style garden. Inside the house, the accessories and styling of the Stuart family is kept intact. Guided tours are arranged from June to September. Tea and lemon cakes are served at the end of the tour.
Le Cercle is undeniably the best when it comes to hosting art events, for it does so with taste and panache. Primarily an eat, drink and entertainment space; it also aids in promoting art through its galleries. Apart from this, the venue hosts concerts and presents upcoming and local musicians alike who fill the air with intoxicating tunes. Hence, an evening here is full of revelry. The restaurant serves delectable contemporary dishes and complements them with a list of well stocked spirits. A complete entertainer, Le Cercle is to be visited only if you seek a great time out with family or friends.
House of Coulombe-Dorion was bought by the Coulombe family in 1975. The house is one of the oldest houses in the Limoilou neighborhood and its architecture reflects French and English influence. This old beauty faced the threat of demolition because of industrial development, but was later saved. The house is now a museum and also the headquarters of the Society of Saint-Charles River. The house now features permanent exhibits talking about the ecosystem of Saint Charles River.
La Citadel de Québec, also known as the Citadelle of Quebec, is a fortress that stands as a prominent attraction with much historical relevance. Built between 1820 and 1850 by the French engineer Vauban, this star-shaped structure has Norman and French influences. The fort houses the Royal 22e Regiment, the French regiment of native forces that is a popular attraction today. It is also the official abode to the Governor General of Canada. There are buildings inside the citadel that have an array of collections and memorabilia from uniforms, photographs to drawings, weapons, documents and so on. You can also find here military prisons, magazines, museums and more exhibiting the history of this national site. Catch the grim beef-eaters do their majestic parade in the Guard ceremony held every morning. A must visit!
Located within the Citadelle de Québec, Le Musée Royal 22e Régiment takes visitors on a journey into the military history of Quebec, highlighting the contributions and achievements of the 22e Régiment. Established by the members of the 22e Régiment, the museum opened its doors in 1950. The documents and artifacts exhibited here, shed deeper insight into the battles that the city has witnessed and the importance of this magnificent fortress. Tours around Le Musée Royal 22e Régiment will take you into 300 years of glorious history.
Many emigrants left the British Isles, Ireland and continental Europe after 1815, at a time when great epidemics were sweeping through Europe. For fear of transmission, a quarantine station was set up on Grosse Île, near the Quebec Port. Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site commemorate the importance of immigration to Canada and the tragic events experienced by the Irish immigrants on this site, primarily during the typhoid epidemic of 1847. Nowadays people can learn about how the island operated, and spend a day there. A train goes across the island and makes a number of stops during the one-hour ride. Call to check for timings.
Discover the fascinating world of dolls in this museum located in the Artillery Park. Les Dames de Soie displays the steps of doll making from the molding of the head and hands to the selection and detailing of the doll's clothes. Several dolls are on display and show the importance of play in children's lives, especially in past centuries. The museum can also give a second youth to your old dolls or custom make new dolls for you. A souvenir shop is on the premises and admission to the museum is free.
At Les Délices de l'Érable, it is all about celebrating the Canadian national tree, Maple. Nestled in Quebec City's Old Quebec neighborhood, this store is home to a huge selection of saccharine products made from the Maple leaf. Maple syrups, sugar, biscuits, seasonings, cakes, pies, sorbets, spread, coffee, teas and much more are available here. This beautiful store also houses a Maple Museum within it. The exhibits and artifacts take visitors through the history of the Maple and enlightens them on the process of how delights are sourced from it.
L'Îlot des Palais are two palaces from the 14th Century which are now an archaeological museum, in Quebec City. The two palaces are over 300 years old and during olden times served as the administrative office of New- France. It also houses prison cells and stores from that era. A trip to this museum is a unique experience for the whole family. The tour includes almost real archaeological digs, games and treasure hunts. It's a great way for kids and adults to learn about the history of these colonies, interactively.